I Still Love H.E.R. by Sivion feat Sean P.

 

Everyday on Facebook I ask an essay question of the class. In honor of today being the anniversary of when Kool Herc first bought his turntables out for his sister Cindy’s back to school jam.  In honor of that moment that changed all of our lives forever, today’s essay question was “When did you first fall in love with Hip Hop. Mr Bryant said he wanted to hear my answer. My answer is layered so to borrow from the best analogy that I can think of to describe Hip Hop, I met her when I was 7 years old.  As a child growing up in Chicago, when I first heard Rapper’s Delight on WGCI, my mind was blown.  I was raised with music in my home and all around me.  My mom had this cool little thing she used to do where she would set the album cover of whatever record she was playing up against the stereo.  After awhile I would be able to know who was playing and what album it was on when I heard it. My mom was a fan of all the legendary funk and soul bands, as well as Donny Hathaway, Stevie Wonder, Luther Vandross, Minnie Ripperton and Evelyn “Champagne” King. My mom was also into disco and 80’s pop and whether she knew it or not that helped me in my appreciation of music and love of Hip Hop.

Now in 1979 when I first heard Rapper’s Delight, my mom couldn’t quite understand why Chic wasn’t singing and these guys were just “talking over the beat”. She even tried to fight it at first but after a while she began rapping along with the intro “I said a hip hop hippity to the hippity hip hop”.  That’s when it all began for me.  Let me be clear, I believe in love at first sight (or in this case listen) but we were still in the courtship phase.  I wanted to love her but I was unsure as to whether she would be around for the long term. You must understand, the movement had already began to flourish in New York as Rapper’s Delight kind of signaled the end of an era for the true school. It was just the beginning for the rest of the world.

Fast forward to 1985 when Run DMC’s “You Talk To Much” was on WGCI in light rotation which means it came on twice a day and I would sit by the radio ALL DAY LONG just to hear one of RUN DMC’s worst songs.  Even though the airplay was limited then, that’s when I knew that she would be around a lot longer than everybody else thought.  See, I knew that I wasn’t the only kid waiting for that record to play on the radio. My friends and I would talk about it all the time and quote the lyrics in our daily conversations.  I was just starting to give my heart to her at this point. It’s funny, it wasn’t something I did because I wanted to, I was COMPELLED to get into this music.However, it hadn’t taken complete control of me yet. That would come later.

Then Raising Hell hit in 1986. This was a very very special time.  Now, the culture was EVERYWHERE!  Graffiti Rock had been on TV, which was Hip Hop’s answer to Soul Train. (btw I got that on dvd now!) and WHPK was playing EVERY hip hop song that I thought existed. Schooly D’s Gucci Time (the first song I had ever heard with profanity) and a host of other ones.  After seeing Run Dmc and Aerosmith on EVERY video show and EVERY late night show, and there were about 12 of them back then, I was all in, forever, for years to come. Then came the death of Biggie.    

Please understand, Puffy wasn’t the problem at this point because Bad Boy debuted with two real MC’s. The veteran Craig Mack (formerly known as MC EZ as in ease) and this new jack that everybody called Biggie Smalls. But after Biggie died Puffy started rapping and that’s when it became all about the money. I had reduced myself to being in love with a woman that was a shell of her former self and add to that I was really in love with the memory of what she once was.  After the Bling Era and seeing Nas blinged out standing next to Puffy, I decided that we were over and if memories were all I had, I would be fine with those

Then it happened.  I met Markos Clark aka Poisoned Fetus and he played Median’s Comfortable over the telephone.  I went over to his house, in the dead of summer on the bus, just to put that song on a cd.  THIS is what I remember but there was an even more far reaching familiarity to it.  That’s Luther Vandross’ Forever, For Always, For Love they sampled for this song!  That was a song I grew up on. Not something as blatant as You Can’t Touch This but something subtle, yet recognizable. This was my mother’s music that I loved and the music of mine that I loved on one song. She had changed a little but I recognized that girl and it seems she had come back to me. See the thing about this time was before as I waited around for her I knew she would appear. Now she wanted me to come to find her. I would. I did. I do. I will. Forever. For Always, For Love. Like Jacob Crim mentioned in his post I fell in love all over again after hearing 9th Wonder, his combination of New Hip Hop reinvigorated my faith in Hip Hop. Here I am today, helplessly in love and she’s got me right where she wants me. Instead of looking for me, I’m now looking for her. And everytime I get on the air with the class, I think of my moms,  Luther Vandross, Run DMC, and JP Chill, and I fall madly in love with her all over again

 

Ya Man,

The Professor

~ by Professor Mike on August 11, 2010.

2 Responses to “I Still Love H.E.R. by Sivion feat Sean P.”

  1. I’ll send u my full story tomorrow……please look for it

Leave a Reply

 
