The Dirty South by Goodie Mob

It has come to my attention that VH1 is doing The Dirty South this year for it’s annual Hip Hop Honors celebration.  To be specific, they are honoring Jermaine Dupri, J Prince of Rap-A-Lot Records, Luther “Luke” Campbell and The 2 Live Crew, Organized Noize, and Master P.  Last Year, it was Def Jam and in two weeks I took you chronologicallly thru Def Jam’s history in showing special love to the superstars that made Def Jam the label it is today.  When Run DMC was inducted into the Rock N Roll Hall Of Fame, I did a 4 hour tribute to them.  I have celebrated the life and music of Biggie, Michael Jackson, Guru, Baatin, Teddy Pendergrass and James Brown and it’s NEVER like any other tribute you’ve heard. 

This year for the honors these are my plans.  The 4th of June I’m celebrating the Honorees named above.  The following week we recap the show and then, MY favorite Dirty South joints.  My man and occasional class discussion moderator Stephen Primeau has been asking me for a Dirty South show.  I told him I already did one but that one was done out of anger. (another story for another time)  so I was considering doing another one.  Well Mr. Primeau, the first two weeks in June are for you.   This will be done out of love.

 

Ya Man,

The Professor   

~ by Professor Mike on May 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
