Duck Down by Sean Price feat Skyzoo & Torae

     I know what you’re thinking.  Two blogs in a row? Wow.  What can I say I’m feeling inspired.  I found out that an mc who is as underrated as he is talented, Pharoahe Monch just signed to Duck Down Records owned by Dru Ha and Buckshot.  This is exciting news in and of itself but what makes it special is it further confirms my announcement that Duck Down Records is killing it right now!  They have a different look and different sound and they’re future looks to outshine the legendary past of Duck Down!

      We all remember the old school Duckdown.  It was the Original Boot Camp Clik, Black Moon, Heltah Skeltah, Smif N Wessun and O.G.C.  They were a hot crew but after a while the inevitable slide started.  They even put out a greatest hits album in 2000, Which normally signals the end of a career.  It seemed that way for 5 years.

     Enter 9th Wonder. Producer extraordinaire.  He has produced work for everybody from Little Brother to Jay Z and from Erykah Badu to Beyonce.  In 2005 Duck Down re-emerged with a new sound and 3 new albums.  The amazing Buckshot and 9th wonder Chemistry album and 9th also contributed to the Sean Price Monkey Bars album.  With 9th being a regular contributor for a while the Duckdown name started ringing out again.  In a major way.  So much so that Chicago group Kidz in The Hall signed with them in 2007 and released The In Crowd. A great release from them that added even more shine to the label.  Then they went on a shopping spree! lol  They went on to sign DJ Revolution from The Wake Up Show, Ruste Juxx (whose Vic Flair song is an A+ cut of any fan of Ric Flair which I most certainly am!),  B Real if Cypress Hill, They put together Marco Polo and Torae for the boomest bappest album of 2009, Blue Scholars, The Random Axe collaborative effort with Black Milk, Sean Price, and Guilty Simpson and they also released one of my top 3 albums of 2009, Skyzoo’s  The Salvation.  They even put the legendary KRS and Buckshot together!   I named them The Label Of The Year and with the signing of  Monch they are showing no signs of slowing down.  Right now if something has the Duckdown logo on it, COP IT!  Thanks for Keeping Hip Hop alive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ya Man

The Professor        

~ by Professor Mike on March 21, 2010.

14 Responses to “Duck Down by Sean Price feat Skyzoo & Torae”

  1. Yes sir! Monch is the man. Having him AND all those other big names… BOY!… Duck Down ain’t bullshittin’!

  2. Great post, Professor.

    Here’s the thing, though: as much as I love Pharoahe Monch (who might be one of my top five favourite emcees), I just don’t like 9th Wonder at all. After “Murs 3:16,” it was all downhill for him, so I might be a bit slower to check some of these albums out…

    Oh, and I don’t know what happened, but the spacing in this note got all messed up…it’s sort of hard to read now.

  3. This is real refreshing. Buckshot is one of my favorite MC’s ever. And I am a big fan of Pharoe Monch and I am glad he is with them. And 9th Wonder= extremely underrated producer representing North Carolina.

  4. Who the fuck is Kevin?

  5. Ha.. good question! My bad. KYLE. I was talkin to this dude, Kevin, at the same time I was typing that. Lemme fix it. LOL

  6. @ Kyle – First off, Cosign the great post comment. The other thing; I feel what you’re saying about 9th Wonder, but would you not agree that for 1, most of DD’s artists ARE very good, and for 2, what label in the world could possibly line up a team of artists that one could honestly say is NOTHING BUT their favorites? There’s always going to be at least one or two you’re not very fond of, on any label.

  7. I guess I’m trying to say that, since it’s all a matter of opinion, there will always be some cats so-&-so likes, that what’s-his-name don’t like, but as a label overall and generally speaking, Duck Down ain’t half-steppin’. At the moment, they’re a label who could be considered “as good as it gets”, in my opinion. Feel me?

  8. Yeah, it’s cool. I was just messing with you a little bit. You’re lucky, though–I could be a girl and be really offended. It’s not like you’d know. I have a gender-ambiguous name and a faceless profile picture

  9. Keep it thorough, bro!!! U da man, when can we come chill in the lab again???

    • Not sure. We doing The Hip Hop 101:1987 This coming Friday. Will has been under the weather so if he’s not well, I may be looking for a co host for a show this huge so I’m going to get at you.

  10. ’87–My fave!!! Ultramagnetic, EPMD, Rakim, BDP, Juice Crew…

  11. looks like a dope label, hopefully their marketing is just as good as their roster

  12. duck down got it on smash

  13. u do coach bags i do kush bags

Leave a Reply

 
