Thank You by Jay Z

     First and formost I got quite a few requests for the Valentine’s Show but some of them weren’t hip hop enough for my show.  Now to be fair, I love all kinds of music and You see that I play all kinds on my show.  However my show is a hip hop show and while I love your songs they didn’t fit into the framework of the show.  That’s the bad news, the good news is I’m opening my weekly regular thank you blog with a few videos dedicated to a few people that are special to me…

Gotta start this off with today’s birthday girl’s request.  Happy Birthday to one of the newer members of the class,   Laura David!!!  Despite the fact she’s turning 20 today, she came in on our first Hip Hop 101 show, and has been with us ever since.  She knows her hip hop and it is a pleasure to have her.  It’s also to serve up to her, the James Brown classic she requested for our Valentine’s show.  Happy Birthday again Laura and thank you for being part of the class. Also she reps Chicago so she just has that (chica)GO ILL(inois) mentality like myself!  This one is for you.

 

Next up is Superposter ViVi!  She requested some real r and b type stuff and some of it was a little too R & B for me BUT she is the Superposter and she posts crazy love for the show ALL THE TIME!  Gotta love that!  It is for this reason I’m going to play one of her requests.  Thank you for showing love ViVi! 

 

Gotta show some love to Gina Baity who requested one of my favorite love songs ever!  I have known Gina B longer than I have known almost everybody in Arkansas and she is a hip hop head.  She has been tuning in regularly and the song she requested, if I had an R & B show I would have been played it!  It brings tremendous pleasure to bring this Babyface classic.

 

We get crazy busy putting this show together for you every week and some of the things you ask of us, we sometimes forget or overlook.  I am saying this to say that Baby Shay requested a song for the Valentine’s Show and somehow I forgot to include it.  I am terribly sorry and I, Professor Mike Jordan, accept full responsibility.  I will conclude this segment with Baby Shay’s request with a sincere apology.

  

 

Now that I’ve handled that bit of biz I gotta shy what up to my man outta South Africa Lutendo Morris, Ross Thomas, Evie holding me down in the RockTown!  Can’t forget about Michael Tyler aka White Boy Mike aka Wolfpack of One who has been with me since day uno,  Also DJ Staloski one of my closest friends and one of my favorite DJs, Alex “We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Badges!” Gonzalez!  I also want to thank Stephanie Peterson aka Steph Lova.  Right now she’s a homeroom student but soon she’ll be taking the online courses from San Diego, CA!  Unay Umaphia is, was, and will always be in the building!  Robert Marx outta New Hampshire is holding me down !  Trashman Tom Greenleaf is doing his thing (If you need a front load dumpster let me know and I’ll put you in touch with the best trash man in the business!) Gotta say what up to Ron Thorburn who’s not only a hip hopper he also is a fan of one of my favorite movies Grandma’s Boy! Sending a shout out to Rajah Francisco outta the great state of New York !  Gotta say what up to my main amigo Jose Morillo outta Puerto Rico (HOOOOOOO!) Also wanna give a huge shout out to my girl, Jamie Washko.  She’s from Cali but holding it down in Pennsylvania right about now! Also I can’t leave out my main man, my brother from another mother, a man I grew up around the corner from but I had to come to Little Rock to meet, DJ Dirtbag!  Gotta always show love to my longtime listener out of Canada (I’m going to get my citizenship there.  I get CRAZY love out of Canada!)  Can’t mention Canada without mentioning the Queen of Canada,  My Girl Kristen Douesnard (who is IM’ing me as we speak on facebook!) Fellow Midwest Representative Jahsen Latimore outta The Lou, Ericka Lindsey medicated or not she’s holding me down!  Also gotta give a shout out to my man Chris Dundas-Robinson ALSO outta Canada, From our nation’s capital my main man Mike Hayes also gets a shout out, gotta say what’s up to my man outta Queens, John Canty, and Adelle Short thank you so much for tuning in.   Showing love all the way from Phoenix Arizona is my girl, Danielle Renea Lopes!  Nielven Olis is always in the building from where else but Canada!  K.A.B aka Kimberly Anders Brock is so very much in the building right now! Anthony Indy Joachim from the Dirty Jerz has been in the building, on numerous occasions! 

Thank you all for holding us down on the past couple of  shows.  It wouldn’t be the same without each and every one of you.  For that Will & I thank you for being with us and for keeping Hip Hop Alive.  Tonight’s Show is jam packed with newness and I’m excited to bring it to you!  Next week the return of our popular Hip Hop 101 series!  We’ll be looking at “85 and “86!  If you like how we do it tell a friend!  Each One Teach One!  In closing we leave you with this…

Thank You, Thank You, Thank You,

You’re far too kind

Hold your applause,

This is your show not mine….  

 

Ya Man,

The Professor

~ by Professor Mike on February 19, 2010.

2 Responses to “Thank You by Jay Z”

  1. Your show and your blog is the evolution of the first hip hop radio shows. Thank you so much Professor! You deserve all of the thanks!

  2. thanks for the shoutout man! keep doin u! hip hop always is alive and kicking (y)

Leave a Reply

 
