Face to Facebook Interview Vol I

Well I was sitting on Facebook as I do from time to time, and I got to chatting with a dear friend of mine named Ericka Lindsey! A little about Ericka. She’s from Virginia Beach, (one of the places I’ve lived, DMV, Bad Newz, Stand Up!) She has two children, she is hitting you on the daily with little known black history facts this month on her facebook page, she’s going to school for criminal justice and she knows her hip hop! Ericka has been listening to The Old School, New School, Need To Learn Though Show! for some time now and I am always impressed by how much she knows about hip hop. Halfway through this I decided to ask her at the end if I could post this as a blog entry because She had great answers and wonderful explanations to defend her choices. Now due to my internet connection being involved in a huge government plot to cause me grief, some of the conversation was cut off. I asked her why did I have a surprising amount of ladies in my class. (She told me but I forgot. Sorry.) Who was her favorite hip hop artist (Jay-Z) Favorite Album (Illadelph Halflife) and a few more questions that did make the cut. For instance i asked her what was her favorite hip hop video….

Ericka
Well….since you asked….The Roots “What They Do”. I loved the concept of the video and how they just kept it real. Nobody had done it like that before, to my knowledge. It was funny yet sad at the same time. Cuz as you look at the video all you can do is shake your head, and say “yep, so true”. LOL

Mike
I KNEW YOU WERE GOING TO SAY THAT VIDEO!
but it’s hard to argue with it

Ericka
you know me so well. I love to keep it real man

Mike
okay!
do you like the old classic soul?

Ericka
yeah.

Mike
good good!
favorite old soul song? and the why is assumed! (after every question in the beginning I had to keep asking her why lol)

Ericka
I love Stevie Wonder’s “Isn’t she lovely”. I just remember hearing that song when i was little, and my mommy used to sing to it to me, rest her soul. But i love the solo harmonica part.

Mike
the harmonica was invented for Little Stevie Wonder!
favorite old soul singer male?

Ericka
Stevie Wonder. I just love his music. He was on The Steve Harvey morning show a while back doing it live. It was great?

Mike
he is the perfect marriage between songwiter and musician

Ericka
Yeah, the man is bad.

Mike
He is my one. Not a surprising answerat all.
Old soul female?

Ericka
Phyllis Hyman
Tragedy. But she had some beautiful music.

Mike
GODDAMN! I LOVELOVELOVE Phyllis Hyman! You Ericka, are my hero!
between me and you…
Living All Alone still brings me to tears

Ericka
Hahahaha. LOL I was watching her true hollywood story not too long ago. If only she could’ve found love. She’d be still rolling today.

Mike
I know why but put in your words!

Ericka
I feel her pain. Not all of it but some. I know what’s like trying to find love. Sometimes you just can’t seem to find the right one. Some folks just can’t take that loneliness. Thank God I have my kids. LOL

Mike
Us men are a mess but…I digress…

Ericka
no some men are mess

Mike
btw, are you speaking of this show called Unsung
?

Ericka
Yeah.

Mike
Unsung is one of the greatest shows ever put on television!

Mike
Favorite soul group?

Ericka
any soul group?
old or new?

Mike
for you? yeah

Ericka
Boyz II Men. Them some bad boyz!

Mike
the first album (Cooleyhigharmony) was MURDER! EVERY song on there was bad
!

Ericka
yeah. couldn’t tell them nothing.

Mike
that damn Please Don’t Go! Uhh Ahh!


Ericka
yeah, and i love that joint “Hey Lover”, with LL. LOVE IT!!

Mike
err
moving right along lol

Ericka
You don’t like that song?
LOL

Mike
i don’t like Ladies Love
I like Hard as hell LL!

Ericka
I like that one too
.

Mike
can I ask you a couple more questions?
are you hip hop?

Ericka
i think i’m little bit of everything now.
but that’s why i listen to your show, so i can learn more

Mike
can i post this on my blog?

Ericka
post what
?

Mike
this conversation

Ericka
sure. You can leave out the LL part. LOL LOL

Mike
What do you like about The Old School, New School, Need To Learn Though Show?

Ericka
i like that you let us, your students have a voice, that you appreciate us as much as we appreciate you, and that you love and embrace music the same way we do regardless of what the trend it is.

Despite being heavily medicated due to her foot surgery she still answered every last one of my questions and she inspired me to make this a regular feature. Thanks Erica. You were the first. Will and I will be in your area this friday at midnight and we’ll be in the chatroom located in the request section AND on facebook. Each One Teach One

Ya Man,
The Professor

~ by Professor Mike on February 3, 2010.

4 Responses to “Face to Facebook Interview Vol I”

  1. Thanks Professor!

    • It was really MY pleasure! I enjoyed chatting with you. You mos def set the bar for all Face to Facebook interviews I do. Hell, we may talk again! Thank You Ericka!

  2. […] in the Class and artists that were cool enough to accomodate me. The first one was with my girl Ericka Lindsey. It was mad fun and shortly after that one, I did this interview with my man Finale from Detroit. […]

  3. It has definitely made plenty of buzz round the music market place and DJ community, and so
    on. The reality is, with all the finest defeat maker you can actually be putting out there surpasses
    the same day that you purchased it even if you’re just starting out. You can master these important elements of beat making quickly and efficiently with no stress or confusion.

Leave a Reply

 
