The Art of StoryTelling by Outkast feat Slick Rick

Sup.  It’s Ya Man, The Professor. I know two new posts in two days is kinda crazy but if Will thought I would let this slide he’s crazy!  Here’s what’s up: Buried in the comments of the Children’s Story blog I wrote a few days ago was this loooooong ass comment by my Co-D Will E. Rock about his first music purchase.  I don’t know why he tried to hide it because I think it is masterful storytelling to say the least. Since he trying to be all on the down low with his story, I decided to bring it to light.  I love this story and since I was an asshole to post it all public, be sure to tell him how much you like it…

will e. rock here, due to public demand, here is my story.

Now, I was born in a different era than Mr. Jordan. Records were a thing of the past (My father makes fun of me for asking what “those big black plastic things are”?) and we had moved through the cassette era without so much of a blip, except for the ninja turtle cassette I ALLEGEDLY played to death at the ripe age of 4. Turn a few pages in time and you would find me in 5th grade. My best friend at the time, Greg and I hung out every Friday night. We didn’t go to the skating rink, mainly because the hoes down there were beneath us (ha), so instead we would do the manly thing and stay home to play video games. Greg had brothers and sisters who always would walk through the game room or whatnot, but I remember on this one occasion, his brother Brad RAN through the room. I didn’t think much of it, but a little later we started to hear this baseline rumble out of his room. He was bumping (believe it or not) the “new” Spin Doctors’ album. If you aren’t familiar, it was a alt-funk-rock band who had a two big hits and nothing more. Oh yeah, and a horn. ha. As you can guess, after pressing my ear to the door just to try and make out the words for over an hour, i just had to have the album. The problem was, by the time I got home, the Surge had worn off and I couldn’t remember what my name was let alone the name of this album i desperately needed. Remember the days before AIM instant messenger, text messages on phones, and really even before your mom would let you have a cell phone? These were THOSE days. My only hope was to call him, but Greg was of no help and his brother had already taken the cd to the black hole that was his car, probably never to be seen again. I was crushed… I didn’t even have a cd player of my own, and I was crushed.
but then
the angel of music saved me.
One night (i’m not shitting you) I had a dream where Greg and I were hanging out in the game room, probably playing Goldeneye (“no, you can’t use Oddjob you cheatin’ rat…”), and his brother walked through. Even though I was dreaming, I knew this was my chance. I ran after him and caught up with him in the hallway.
“What is that album with the green label called?”
“Pocket Full of Kryptonite”
“K thx bye”

and I woke up. And to this day I have never forgotten the album’s name. rarely do I have lucid dreams, and this out of all of them might have been the most useful. (except for that one with Marissa Miller, but that is a comment for another day). My dad got me the cd and I started down the path towards the Old School New School show!

Respect to all who tune in, and if you know somebody who should, make it so.

Hey, It’s The Proffessor again.   Will didn’t sign this blog, because, well he didn’t know it would be one. But don’t you all agree if he did sign it, it should be like this….. 

Sincerely
Will E.
~ by Professor Mike on February 2, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Art of StoryTelling by Outkast feat Slick Rick”

  1. This was a great post! I laughed, I cringed, I cheered for the vivid dream! Makes me want to tell my own “first” story…..Great blog, glad you posted it for Will.

Leave a Reply

 
